Catching Up~Thanksgiving 2008

Finally, a chance to catch up on my blogging. I am going to start with Thanksgiving and go from there.

This year was my FIRST attempt at Thanksgiving Dinner. You see every other year our Thanksgiving consists of my family of 5 and my parents. Well this year Roger got it in his head that we would host Thanksgiving for my parents. I was a little uptight as the business has been booming with a lot of long days, hours etc. But I am always up for some type of challenge, so I took it.

We had a 14 pound turkey and decided it would be best to roast it in a bag in our oven since we were new at this. Roger made his Mother’s homemade stuffing, and we did mashed potatoes, homemade gravy, Pistachio Salad (pudding, cool whip, fruit cocktail, pineapple, marschino cherrys), homemade rolls, cranberry sauce (2 kinds), squash, peas, & corn. My Mom brought a Sweet Potato Dish, and Pies.

I got up early on Thanksgiving Day-got the rolls ready, made my salad, cleaned and then got the turkey ready. I guess I haven’t ever fiddled with a turkey as I couldn’t find the neck-and then realized~ I was looking in the wrong end….Rog went hunting in the morning and the boys had been away a few days with my father and brother. So it was just Abbey and I at home with the dogs and she was still asleep. Once I got the bird in the oven I was able to relax…and I was even more pleased when I pulled that bird out of the oven and he looked just like a picture and tasted even better. Everyone was pleased which was even better. So after it was all over I was happy despite being uptight that 1) I had went through with it and 2) it worked out just fine. I also enjoyed the time with my family~for which I am very Thankful for.

I hope you all had a great Thanksgiving

One response to this post.

  1. I hope you know how thrilled I am to come here and find you are breathing! XOX (teasing with all love and affection)

    Upon reading I do want to say that Congrats are in order for your culinary accomplishments..Way to go!

Leave a Reply

