There are No Shortcuts To Any Place Worth Going…

Before I share what I want to share today I need to give a little background. Back in August of 2002 while I was doing my hair getting ready for work something pulled in my back. Laugh you might but I figured that whatever this was, wasn’t good. I was working in my father’s insurance office, I had been for close to 8 years at that time for him. So I had built up the knowledge to work it alone if needed. During this time my Dad had become Governor of Rotary-so he had to be away alot. Anyways…I had went to work anyways-although I could hardly move my upper half without pain..by the end of the day I was holding my head up on the counter and felt sick. My husband ended up coming to get me. I sat on the floor that night with my head laying on the chair. By that morning I ended up having Roger take me to the ER. I had a headache, pain shooting down my arms, and a buzzing in my head that wouldn’t go away. They gave me pain medicine, I couldn’t use the bathroom…etc. They ended up sending me to another hospital where I was admitted for 3 days. There they did testing, more drugs and finally released me and said I needed to do pain management and physical therapy. Physical therapy wouldn’t touch me because all I did was throw up. I had no sensation in my hips, a buzzing in the back of my head that would not go away and I walked bent over holding onto my shirt. So to make a long story short after 1 chiropractor, a few other doctors and the chiropractor I now go to-I was diagnosed with DDD (Degenerative Disc Disease) of my neck and back. After finally finding the BEST chiropractor I was more myself in 6 months than the previous 6 months of all the other doctors. I have good days and bad days-but I have to say that Dr. Bob (Berry) gave me my life back. Within a year I went camping with my family and slept on an air mattress in a tent; something I could not have done without his help. At the time I had 2 curves in my neck going the wrong way-which explained all of my pain. I was told by one doctor I had to “just live this way”-and at 33 I just couldn’t accept that. Luckily no one would do surgery on me…that in itself is a blessing looking back. After 7 years I know when I have over done-or what I can and can’t do. But I walk upright and haven’t had the buzzing in my head or the numbness in my thighs. I am able to pour candles-although some days are tougher than others. But I Thank you Dr. Bob for giving me my life back. So I want to share a great article that I got from his office. His website is http://www.advancedfamilychiropracticofny.com
_______________________________________________
10 Great Reasons to Have Surgery:
10. My insurance covers it.
9. Everyone is doing it.
8. The Doctor said God just threw in any extra part.
7. It hurt so I figured, “Hey, just cut it out”.
6. My mother-in-law said her aunt had good results and the guy at work who makes the coffee said it worked for him, and he makes good coffee.”
5. Going to the Chiropractor takes too long.
4. I’ll never have to worry about trouble with that part again.
3. Scars make me look like Rambo.
2. My doctor said I have to…..
1. And besides, my Doctor just bought new golf clubs and he really needs the money.

Everyone wants to be well. You can cut out the ailing part of take enough medication to not feel the symptoms of illness and if you are lucky feel less bad quickly, for a while.
We live in an instant gratification society. Fast food, instant coffee, and instant relief. However, if you want to be well it takes commitment and time. You will also have to pay the price.
1. You will have to spend some time. When you have pain or illness, it did not take place over night. Pain, sicknes, and disease is a process of time. Getting well and truly healing is a process of time.
2. You will have to spend some money. If you buy a diamond ring for 5 dollars then you just bought a ring worth five dollars. Its a fact.
3. You may have to endure some pain and suffering. While getting well God’s way, naturally over time, the symptoms may not subside for a while. However, by waiting it out and toughing it out, the healing that takes place will be proper and more permanent.
Do not shortchange God by thinking you can not get well. Do not be surprised when He gets you well. By following your Chiropractor’s advice at home, avoiding dangerous drugs, and getting the amount of adjustments necessary to correct your spine and nerve system you give your body its optimum chance to get well and stay well. BE PATIENT, BE PATIENT.

Possibilities must be weighed.
Then Priorities Must be Swayed.
Then the Plans must be Layed.
And commitments must be made.
The Price must be Paid.
The timing might be delayed.
But the course must be stayed.
And the Trumpets will be played!-Robert Schuler

5 responses to this post.

  1. Bec,
    I had no idea. This is so beautifully written and excellent advice. Hugs hun.

    Krista

  2. Becky, I didn’t have any idea that you have been dealing with all of this. I’m sorry you’ve had to go through so much. Thanks for sharing you story….it helps me when I know others in a similiar situation.

    I was in an accident (auto) back in the 80’s – my neck was fractured and I was too young and dumb to go to the doctor. Years later, I paid for it. I knew after the accident that I had severe headaches, couldn’t turn my head, etc. but just thought I had whiplash. Then I started having numbness in my face, my legs would just go out from under me when I stood up, terrible muscle spams in my neck, etc. In the late 90’s I found a wonderful chiropractor. He says I have a textbook neck…Thanks a lot, doc! Before finding Dr. John, I went to many medical doctors. Their solution was pain medication….I couldn’t function in daily life with 2 small children. I feel fortunate that no one recommended surgery, as Dr. John says that would not have been a wise move. Through Dr. John, I have learned to slow down, don’t overdo, eliminate stress, eat properly, and get enough rest. All of that along with his manipulations has been a lifesaver for me. I am a strong advocate of chiropractic medicine.

    As you, some days are better for me than others. When I overdo…I pay the price. Hoping and praying for you. Hugs~Debbie

  3. I never new you had all this pain. You are a strong and amazing person!
    Hugs

  4. prayers…prayers…and more heartfelt prayers for you Becky!

  5. Sending prayers for you my dear!!! What an amazing women you are Becky I can feel your pain. ~love you~

Leave a Reply

